Ramblings on Oils
Ive posted this as there have been the occasional question on oil. These are my views only based on a considerable amount of reading on the net (Im not an engineer or chemist). The great oil debate (as it is dubbed) has deforrested whole continents on the Harley forums where it is talked about endlessly and being the lonely person I am I actually read.

These are only my views. So do not take any notice of them. Im not qualified in the appropriate field, they have not been peer reviewed, I have probably misunderstood what I read which was probably written by people as misinformed as me.

I have not intended to show a lack of respect to any one by issuing this thread. If you disagree with what I have written feel free to explain but please no flaming.

The only thing I can say unequivically about oils is follow the manufacturers recommendations (type, viscosity, change intervals) and you cant go wrong.

I will probably add to this occasionally.

Synthetic for Bedding In.- should not be used for bedding in an engine (even though may be OK for some). It does not allow proper bedding in of parts. Even the oil co tech people dont fully undersatnd why. Their recommendation is at least 6000km (or was it 10 - Ill check) on Dino before going synth.

Cushioning Affect of Higher Viscosity Oils - My understanding is the "Cushioning effect" is created mainly by the oil pressure not the viscosity (which has minor impact). W50 oils are specified for older engines where manufacturing tolerances were much higher. In a modern engine there is no benefit in going heavier than the viscosity specified for your operating environment. Ie if your manual says w40 then no benefit of using w50 - it may actually increase wear as the oil passages may be narrow so thicker oil will not flow as fast.

As a test on the cushioning affect - if w50 gives better protection and less wear than w40 due to its thickness then w70 must be better still - imagine - no wear at all!!