riding rules
Hey everybody,
Just a quick question in regards to riding rules/formations, I have been involved with a social harley Club for most of my riding life and they have very solid riding rules about staggered formation, hand signals, overtaking etc etc. Since I'm new to sportsbike riding are these rules pretty general on all rides or is it more open? Or does it really depend on group and numbers?

Thank you all in advance
(02-08-2014, 02:14pm)harleyore Wrote: Hey everybody,
Just a quick question in regards to riding rules/formations, I have been involved with a social harley Club for most of my riding life and they have very solid riding rules about staggered formation, hand signals, overtaking etc etc. Since I'm new to sportsbike riding are these rules pretty general on all rides or is it more open? Or does it really depend on group and numbers?

Thank you all in advance

no a lot of the riders need some lessons on etiquette.
Wtf
Really depends on the group. Most groups I ride with are pretty casual and have no real rules, We have set meet up points if anyone loses the group. We don't have corner markers etc. If you get lost that's your problem, as long as you get to the rendezvous point. Let someone know if you are pissing off so we don't think you've come a gutser. Apart from that everyone tends to fall into a staggered bunched formation on straight boring bits of road, if you feel like leading or upping the pace, you go around, the rest will probably follow. No leaders and no hierarchy. Once twisties are spotted in the distance, the quicker ones will soon disappear and have fun, then slow and wait for the rest to catch up. It depends how well I know the other riders and how competent they as to how close I will ride to them. You tend to pick the dickheads riding outside their comfort zone pretty quick. People tend to take it in turns and take a stint at the back to watch if there is a learner/slow rider, but it's basically just get out and have fun.