Electrical Gremlins?? any ideas
Ok,heres my theory on it.When the motor was hot also meaning the battery would be hot,you could have a warping battery plate effectively causing an internal short inside the battery(it only has to be one cell)and then when the battery cooled down(no charge going into it)the plate would straighten and hence you would have 12.5v again sounds good to me! <i></i>
When I was a wooly arsed apprentice many decades ago, the only battery test worth doing was the Flat Rate Discharge test. This checks battery function under maximum load. Nowadays a mechanic might bin a sus battery & bill you for it to save time

I'm not a sparky but my basic understanding of electrics is that battery power is more to do with AMPERAGE rather than voltage

I tend to agree with Rocket's theory on warped plates as this type of fault can elude good mechanics as well as bad & as mentioned earlier, only battery substitution will sort this problem out <i></i>
Quote : "If you were riding, then pulled over for 20 minutes, and it failed soon after (weak or completely flat), but then 20 minutes later, it was working again fine, it is not your battery. Think about it. Do you think a battery can recharge itself while you go and have a coffee ?? So it has to be something else within your bikes electrical system."

Peter... Electricity does not conduct as well in elevated temperatures. When a battery is getting old it is common that it will not provide power when hot, but will when its cool.
This is why you have a fan on your computer chip... to keep it cool so it runs efficiently. If you have heard of water cooling systems for computers so they can overclock them, well thats to keep it cool (obviously) because computers start to crash when they get hot.
Heard of putting your torch battery in the freezer to give it some extra life... same reason.
Maybe everyones next TAFE course should be basic electronics.