Tank Slappers
There is a bit of discussion going on at Hayabusa.org about riding out of tank slappers.
Some say you can ride them out and others suggest slapping the end of the bars during the event.

Here is my contribution.

I have been riding for 35 years and my last off was 34 years ago when I went over the bars from the biggest slapper I have ever seen.

It was a 250 Suzuki Hustler, 1 year old and I had put a set of leather panniers on it. I overtook 2 cars on a lovely right hand sweeper and when I crossed back to my lane (We drive on the left of the road here) the front wheel hit a large dip in the road that started a real slapper that went from side to side. I was doing about 50mph at the time and the bike slapped so hard that the crash bars on the left dug into the road and catapulted me over the bars. I bounced off my head and landed on my bum, skidding for about 30 meters until I ended up wrapped around a roadside post.
At the end of the ride, which I can still see in slow motion, my helmet was cracked like a boiled egg right on the top and my jeans were worn right through. My nylon undies had melted and I had specks of molten nylon embedded all over my arse cheeks. Both gloves came off and I had small bits of gravel embedded in the backs of both hands.
I was white as a sheet for about an hour afterwards and never rode that bike again. I got a Honda 450 CL to replace it and have learnt a few riding lessons in the mean time.
1. Never fall off.
2. Don't overtake on bends.
3. Don't wear nylon of any type on a bike.
4. Never fit unsecured bags to a bike and if you do. Do not have them unballanced.
5. Ride within your own limits. Because once you find out the bikes limits, it is too late.

Can't help you on how to stop a slapper but I do agree that holding on tight is NOT the answer.
A loose grip on the bars is best in every situation.
I have never had anything like a slapper on a Hayabusa. If you have, something mechanical is wrong.
Rgds BUSGO